Sacrifice (Pt. 2)

img_5546Have I mentioned lately how incredibly easy we have it as New Testament, western believers?   As I have been working through Leviticus with my Bible in a year program (She Reads Truth), I find myself thinking about what a chore it would have been to be Jewish:  So many sacrifices, so many rules about everything… what to eat, what to wear, what makes you “unclean”, how to become “clean again”….   It makes me weary just reading it.   No wonder the Jews needed to see God ~ even if it was in a pillar of fire or a cloud.   What faith they must have had ~ to continue to make the sacrifices, to live on promises, to rely on hope and hope alone.

We have “seen” the fulfillment of the promises.   We know Jesus.   We know he is coming back.   And let’s face it, there is is just so much more grace for us.   We can eat what we want, drink what we want, wear mixed fabrics…. and we don’t have to hold an animal as we slaughter it hoping in the promise that that’s enough to make us ok (forgiven, clean, etc.) enough that God won’t smite us.

If ever you find yourself whining about what we are required to do as Christians or church members:   read a chapter or two of Leviticus.   Really.   We have it easy.   Don’t minimize the grace we have received by intentionally ignoring Christ 6 days a week & then show up on Sunday morning for an hour and expect that that’s enough.   We are saved by grace, but we also NEED to show that grace by our fruit.   Let’s choose one thing to cultivate.  Kindness?   Love?  Maybe a little more gentleness?

I don’t know about you, but I for one am incredibly grateful for the fulfillment of God’s promise before my time.   Grace is a whole lot easier to swallow than animal sacrifice.

2 thoughts on “Sacrifice (Pt. 2)

  1. Ok, so I’m doing the same plan through She Reads Truth and just finished Leviticus last night. My friend mentioned something to me about it yesterday. God is telling all of this to Moses right? So when he is giving law and punishment for sin imagine what Moses must have been thinking? So God says if someone murders they shall lose their life. He told this to Moses, a murderer. Moses saw first hand God’s forgiveness and redemption yet understood his holiness and the importance of obedience to his law. There’s so much in that book for us to glean, thanks for your post, it was perfectly timed for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment